Advanced >>

OUR MISSION is "to upgrade and maintain a safe and efficient road system!"


The Grand Traverse County Road Commission is thrilled and thankful that voters have approved the millage for improving and repairing our roads.  Going forward, we will be dedicated to putting residents' hard-earned tax dollars to work fixing our roads and, in turn, making Grand Traverse County a more beautiful place to live.

We appreciate the trust and confidence that the voting public has placed in our ability to repair and improve our county road system with the millage funds.


Report road problems to 231-922-4848 or email us at: 

To report problems located within the City of Traverse City, click to send a comment.


Keep tabs on our operations through our FACEBOOK page.  Updates are done on nearly a daily basis!

Text Size: Large TextNormal Text Small Text Print Print

Directory/Department Listing

General Contact Information

1881 LaFranier Road, Traverse City MI  49696

Main Phone Number is:  (231) 922-4848. 

To reach the automated attendant, dial (231) 922-4849. Pause for system to reply, then dial extension number.

Fax Number is (231) 929-1836.

General Email address is:

Find us on Facebook:  Grand Traverse County Road Commission

Office Hours:  Monday - Friday; 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM.  Open during the lunch hour. 

Board of Road Commissioners

Board members do not have regular office hours.  For routine requests for service or general information, contact the Road Commission directly.  Listed below is contact information if you need to speak personally with a commissioner.

Marc S. McKellar, Chair - 590-4132

William D. Mouser, Vice Chair - 264-9269

David L. Taylor, Member - 360-0008

Carl J. Brown, Member - 263-7751

John A. Nelson, Member - 941-1099


Jim Cook, Ext. 215

Debra J.M. Hunt, Ext. 217
Clerk of the Board/Office Manager

Rene Hills, Ext. 201
Administrative Assistant

Accounting Department

Jerry Heim, Ext. 209
Finance Director

Deborah L. Chamberlain, Ext. 208

Laura Holling, Ext. 206
Accounting & Administrative Assistant

Engineering Department 

James P. Johnson, PE, Ext. 216
County Highway Engineer

Robert Duranczyk, PS, Ext. 210

Garth Greenan, PE, Ext. 205
Traffic Services Supervisor

Ron Rohloff
Permit Agent

Gary Swanson, Ext 214
Senior Engineering Service Technician

Keith Moore, Ext. 211
Senior Engineering Technician


Toby Javin, Ext. 222

Mike Chandler, Ext. 223
General Road Foreman

Timothy J. Trudell, Ext. 224
Fleet & Facilities Manager